top of page
Writer's pictureAngela

Happy Belated Birthday Wendy!

Yesterday was your birthday, you turned 31. You are no longer a kid.


Yet, many fond memories of your childhood have flooded in for the past few days. I decided to write up something as I did in the past: a blog entry.


This time, I will see if I can write up something different. Since I have already written so many short pieces in the past, the first part (above the divider) will be a summary of many of those past entries. Text in red will lead you to that article:

  1. Last year, on your birthday, I wrote a 1-minute read: Happy Birthday, Wendy!

  2. When you were about 2.5 years old, the immense joy you brought inspired me to write and I had so many Sweet Memories

  3. When you were little, you liked to play the Language Game

  4. You stole my heart from the moment you were born. Sometimes I wonder what became The Secret Weapon

  5. I added one of my publications in Chinese to this blog A Sweet Talker? A Straight Shooter?

  6. Your brother: A Child Born on Children's Day, is different from you in many ways but you were his hero at one point, he even made a school project about that. That is why I wrote this blog: Who Do You Look Up To?

  7. I am grateful that I am A Blessed Mother

  8. All because of My Wonderful Children

  9. Yes, Mes Merveilleux Enfants. Same content, but in a different language

  10. No wonder after many years of being a proud mother, I could offer A Practical Tip

 

That is enough referencing my past blog entries. Here are a few things I admire about you:

  1. A year of 200 books is definitely one of them. You were a BIG reader since you were very small

  2. Your first book was published in April 2020: Abolish Silicon Valley: How to Liberate Technology from Capitalism

  3. Your skills: swimming, skating, and gymnastic. You strive in whatever activities you took interest in. You once skipped a few levels in gymnastics classes.

  4. Your artistic talents: I almost made your artistic talent a business. I sold more than 200 greeting cards you made to my friends and colleagues. Getting artwork from you during special occasions has become something on my wish list

  5. Your generosity: one Christmas, you bought a laptop for your brother because you thought his computer is too old

  6. Your sweetness: your brother said it was your idea to have flowers delivered to my door 🌹🌹🌹 on those special occasions when we are oceans apart: Christmas, my birthday and of course, Mother's Day

  7. Your academic performance: You were at one point at top of your class probably in every subject. Your teacher made pencils with your name on them as a reward (not sure for you or for other kids). I still remember vividly the comments one of your teachers made when we met the first time, he had been teaching for 40 years and he said: your daughter is perfect! When I met him a year later, he told me: I don't recognize her anymore. Guess you became a teenager that year?

  8. Your beauty: I enrolled you in a baby beauty competition and you won first place among more than a thousand babies. Your daycare teacher put your photo in her wallet as you were her "favorite". Your photo was made on a meter-long poster to advertise the photo studio. I remember one of my colleagues made such comments when he saw your photo taken on your 100th day: "Whom does she look like? You? Her father? No, she looks prettier than both of you"

  9. Your words: "Mom, I am so grateful that we have come closer this past year & that we are able to be open and trusting with each other. Knowing that you are on my side has been the best gift I could have possibly imagined. I look forward to spending many more Christmases with you. Love, 刘弯弯"

 

After both of you came to Montreal last June and I went to see both of you in San Francisco last Christmas, here came my BIG announcement to both of you:


For your birthday and Christmas gift this year, I will offer you a trip: No cruise involved, up to $1000.00 each but with a cruise added, up to $1500.00 US dollars for each of you


The condition is: I have to be in the picture!


It can not be cashed out but it can be carried to another year. I hope that by Christmas time, I would be able to accumulate enough days to spend...


I wanted to publish this last night but was too tired to finish it.


Happy Belated Birthday, Wendy! 🌹🌹🌹I hope that you like reading my words and appreciate my gesture. This article is a 3-minute read, it might be the longest one so far I have written on my blog.


You are TRULY special, my darling 😀😀😀












112 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


mixcat8989
Apr 22, 2023

The article is full of beautiful memories with your daughter 💖

😊😊😊

Happy birthday, Wendy ( 刘弯弯)💕🌺😀


Like
bottom of page