top of page
Writer's pictureAngela

Who Do You Look Up To?

I don't remember much about my childhood so I am not sure if there was a model in my life. My father was in the army. Sometimes my mom would visit him and left three of us behind: I was the youngest. I remembered that I used to feel "bullied" because they would ask me to wash the dishes while I was too young to "defend" myself. I don't remember I looked up to them often, well. that is at least how my memory serves me.


After being a mother of two, I know for sure that my daughter has been my son's biggest role model. They are six years different.


In a school project, Eric named his sister: "My Hero: Wendy Liu". It was beautifully made with a lot of admiration. It was hung on the door for many years (the top painting was made by my artistic daughter).


The reason he chose his first musical instrument was that he wanted to be better than his sister because she chose that same one first.


When he achieved great grades at school, he would comment: "Even Wendy didn't do that well." Long after his sister has finished university.


In his toast at sister's wedding last October, he claimed that his sister "is among the most brilliant, considerate, and wisest people". He praised that she has always inspired a competitive ambition in him that has helped him to achieve things he otherwise wouldn't have been able to.


He stated that his sister has been "The biggest role model" in his life.


What about you, who is the biggest model in your life?




45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page