top of page
Writer's pictureAngela

A Sweet Talker? A Straight Shooter?

Are you a parent?

Is your child (are your children) a sweet talker or a straight shooter?

Do you still remember the moments when those traits were revealed, loud and clear?


I am blessed to have two children: a daughter, and a son.


My daughter is a sweet talker and my son is a straight shooter.


They may not agree with me but my perception is backed up with many childhood stories.


When my daughter was little, I was fascinated with her language skills. I wrote down the sweet things she has said and had those articles published. She knew how to turn a tricky situation into something to her advantage just by sweet-talking. She often succeeded. Attached is one short article: it mentioned many little things she touched us with her sweet-talking techniques which she might not realize at that time.


My son, when he was little, liked to waste no time and got to the point right away, either by "crying" or "minor threatening" to get what he wanted. He once gave a crying speech (talking while crying at the same time). It was so hilarious that I took out the videotape recorder and got everything on tape. It would be an AFV winning clip if I can locate it and send it in.


Another time his story using "minor threatening" made it to the opening of my Toastmasters speech on Assertiveness. He said that he would jump up and down at night until I would agree to buy him a Wii. Well, my response? "If you do that, all you will get is a NO".


What are your stories that gave them away?










82 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


qiuyanli666
Dec 02, 2020

Thanks

Like
bottom of page