top of page
Writer's pictureAngela

A Child Born on Children's Day

My son was born on International Children's Day. In case you wonder, it was June 1st.


If he were born in China, he would have benefited from such a coincidence up to 10 years of age. For example, some shops or stores might offer small gifts or presents to children born on that day if you have proof.


Well, he was born here in Canada. International Children's Day is not popular here.


If I were in China in 1998, he wouldn't be here now because of the One-Child policy. I was the holder of such a certificate because it was mandatory when I got married.


Thanks to Canada, I could have such a marvelous son.


I remember when he talked about going to see Avatar with his friends, I suggested: "I am going to see that movie with some friends too. Maybe we can sit together?" His response? "MOM, please don't". At that time I realized he was on longer mom's boy...


The cover photo was taken on his 11th birthday. I don't remember which movie we watched but I know that it was the last time we went to a cinema together.


He turned 22 on June 1st. On June 19, he graduated with honors from McGill University. Next Friday, he is flying out to the US for his job with Google.


At his request last Christmas, I wrote a 20-page article (with many photos to fill up the pages) as his birthday/graduation present. With his permission, I will add that to my blog next Monday. It will also be the last monthly article (total 30) I have written and posted here on my blog.


Stay tuned...



47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page