top of page

Travel Talk: Mexico, My FIFTH Winter Escape

Winter can be tough in Canada.


Going somewhere warm and sunny has been an ideal winter escape for many.


I came to Canada in 1997. Believe it or not, I had only four winter escapes.


February 11 to 18 this year, was my FIFTH winter escape.


And the BEST!


There were 10 of us.


My seven-times travel companion and sometimes roommate, someone I refer to as "A Ray of Sunshine", who has experienced more than 20 such escapes, totally agrees with me.


Riu Cancun is the BEST place for a winter escape.


Here are the top three reasons:


  • A room with an ocean view pleases not only the 👁️👁️but also the soul. Sleeping with the rhythmic sound of the ocean waves couldn't be more therapeutic for the body 🌊🌊🌊

  • The sensation and the beauty of walking on the soft, fine grains of sand was beyond words 🩴🩴🩴

  • The food, not just the presentation, but the variety of delicious dishes, made us gather around the table for our daily feast with eager. The quality of the food made our stay SO enjoyable. I tasted so many fruits each meal🍇🍈🍉🍊🍌🍍🍑🍒🍓🥝🍅

We even established our group daily routine from the second day.


  • 八段锦 at 10:00. We attracted a few fans to join us at the end of our stay 😊😊😊

  • Long beach walks before lunch. The last two days, we enjoyed swimming in the calm ocean for hours 🏊‍♀️🏊‍♀️🏊‍♀️

  • We played cards after lunch or relaxed on the beach or swam in the pool 🏖️🏖️🏖️

  • Walking after dinner was also part of our daily routine. Sometimes we played cards again after the walk. We even played cards for a few hours at the airport when our flights got delayed ♠️♥️♦️♣️


Each day I also had my own side agenda besides the group activities 😉😉😉


  • An hour leisure walk/learning Duolingo/Elevate around the premises before breakfast. I am an early bird, even when I am on vacation 🐦🐦🐦

  • Caught a few beautiful sunrises as the added benefit of being an early bird🌅🌅🌅

  • A few minutes at night on Duolingo to move up a bit in the ranking 😄😄😄

  • The average daily steps for the week (Monday to Saturday) is 27245 = 22 km 👍👍👍

  • I gained only 1 lb even though I ate a minimum of 3 to 4 times more than I would normally eat at home. I guess that those steps compensated a bit for what I have consumed 🤪🤪🤪


I am glad that I wrote a little something for each of my past escapes. Click on the titles below to read about my previous experience:



I am looking forward to coming back next winter, with all of YOU!


Cheers to a wonderful Winter Escape 🥂🥂🥂









93 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page