top of page

Random Thoughts

It started more or less yesterday. Now I am jotting them down on my blog for your special day. It will be my present as the thoughts are all about YOU, no matter how random!


  1. On June 1, 1998, after inviting a friend over early in the morning to look after my daughter, a friend drove me to the hospital shortly after 7 am. I was scheduled to visit the hospital the day after. Well, someone was anxious to see the world. At 7:59 am, a beautiful 7.5 lb healthy baby boy made a grand entrance into this world 🚼

  2. On June 1, 2008, your 10th birthday, we did our first 50 km The Tour de l’Île with a few of my Toastmasters friends. It was our first 50 km bike ride and I was so proud of YOU 👍👍👍

  3. We did a few more after that and the best was last year, you brought your girlfriend over and we did it again: a day of 66 km ride 😃😃😃

  4. A few weeks ago, you did a 40-mile bike ride in Boston. I received compliments for raising a biker! 😊😊😊

  5. In China, we celebrate June 1 because it is Children's Day. You would receive gifts in some big commercial stores. Here, it is just the first day of June so no gift from any store ☹️☹️☹️

  6. I know that I wrote a 20-page article for your 20th birthday at your request but I did not refer to that article when I was writing this one. As I mentioned, these are random thoughts that bring smiles to my face over and over 💖💖💖

  7. You weren't an easy baby at one point. I first realized that you were so attached to me when you were six months old. I went to buy a second-hand Christmas tree and left you with a friend and his family. I was told that you cried the whole two hours when I was away. My friend could not study at all 😆😆😆

  8. Before sending you to daycare, we wanted to try home care for a week, four hours a day for three days. You were rejected on the fourth day. The reason: for those three days with the babysitter, you didn't eat, drink or sleep. You did nothing but cry. The babysitter didn't want to take you in on the fourth day: I have never seen a baby like this. Sorry!

  9. You survived daycare eventually and you even made some friends. One time, you told me about a girl in your daycare: "She is so cute, almost as cute as I am." 😂😂😂

  10. You bonded well with your sister. You did a school project on her as your hero. You credited her for many things you have learned. At one point, you even thought if your parent were ever smart, it was because they got her genes 😊😊😊

  11. Your speech at your sister's wedding is the best one I have ever heard and you wrote it on the flight over. I was moved to tears🥲🥲🥲

  12. Your words sometimes surprised me. One time I had a flight with a then boyfriend and after I told you what had happened, you said that I should apologize because you thought he was a good guy and "it is not easy to find a good guy these days". You were maybe 10 at that time?

  13. You once broke up with a girl on Valentine's Day and the girl's mom complained that her daughter cried a lot and asked why you picked the Valentine's Day to break up. You said: "no day is good for a breakup but if you know it is not going to work, sooner is better than later for sure".

  14. I often called my sister (your aunt) on WeChat. You commented one time after I hung up: "You should always say "I love you" before you hang up". You are right but we weren't brought up that way so we still don't say that 😉😉😉

  15. When I least expected: "You are beautiful Mom" were the encouraging words you said when I had to face the nightmare head-on

  16. A Touching Message you sent on Facebook shortly after you moved to New York brought tears, happy tears to my eyes. I listened to them over and over. They made me realize that I am truly A Blessed Mother


Happy 26th Birthday Eric, my wonderful son, my eternal sunshine 🌞🌞🌞




39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2020 by Readings and Writings for Personal Development. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page