top of page

Parkinson's Law

Have you had the experience that the same work can be done in 1 hour or 30 minutes depending on the time allotted?


This is Parkinson's law - the amount of work adjusts to the time available.


The term was first coined by Cyril Northcote Parkinson in a humorous essay he wrote for the Economist in 1955.


That was also the theme for tonight's Toastmasters meeting.


It is the first time I heard about it and I was not alone.


I was asked in the Table Topics session to elaborate on this law in my life.


I don't remember exactly what I have said but I remember saying that since I have never heard about this law so it doesn't apply to me. I created a to-do list at the beginning of each day and I do whatever I can to check off the list. That is my law.


At the end of my short speech. I got my recognition. Someone wrote in the chatbox that she voted for Angela's Law.


This short video explained more clearly what the secret is for this Parkinson's Law.


Watch it now to learn more...



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page