top of page
Writer's pictureAngela

My Life in China (#17): Photo Memories

Updated: Aug 29, 2021

A while ago, I asked my sister to take photos of my old photos for me.


She started sending in and all the memories started rushing in also.


Sweet sweet memories.


Photos of my daughter with my mom, with her friends, photos of just her, taken here, there, and everywhere.


I sent a couple to our little group on WeChat. My son commented: "Wendy looked so different wow." His sister wrote back: "That is China's healthiest baby you are looking at right there".


I enrolled her in a 健康宝宝大赛 (Healthy Baby Competition) sponsored by Johnson & Johnson. There were over 1000 entries, the selection committee chose 50 for an in-person "interview", my daughter was among the 50. Then the committee picked 10 as final contestants, my daughter was among the 10. They asked the consumers to vote for the top 3 and they awarded the winner with a set of stereo sound systems which I wanted to have one myself. I couldn't vote because of a conflict of interest. My daughter got the championship. The prize? three years of Johnson & Johnson products and a certificate of being a model. I believe that I still have that certificate somewhere.


There weren't any digital cameras at that time. Everything, clear or blur, would be developed and stored in photo albums. I have plenty of those albums and I still remember that my mom used to complain that I spent all my hard-earned money on photos. Imagine, at the time my salary was about $150.00 Canadian a month and I could probably spend a good portion on creating memories...


Worthy it? Totally.








54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page