top of page
Writer's pictureAngela

Duolingo - A Fun App to Learn Languages

Are you learning English or French as a second language?

Have you heard about Duolingo?

Have you used it or are you a proud member?


In my blog dated March 27, 2021, I introduced that app and wrote this:


I was introduced to this app to learn French in January and got hooked, especially at the beginning. I was pumped to listen, repeat, and write a bit every day.


Today marks my 60th-day streak learning French on Duolingo.


Unfortunately, I lost my streak and motivation to continue when life got in the way.


On the other hand, a friend who got on the app because of me is still a super user. Today is her day 936 of learning a language using that app.


Hats off to YOU, Anna: A Lady Who Wears Many Hats!


I truly admire you, Anna.


I also admire a few people I follow on Duolingo. My French tutor has practiced for over 1733 days straight and he is learning 14 languages 😲😲😲


Here are a few fun facts about Duolingo:


  1. Duolingo has over 300 million users worldwide.

  2. It offers courses in over 30 languages.

  3. A computer scientist and a serial entrepreneur created Duolingo.

  4. It gamifies the language-learning experience.

  5. Duolingo's mascot is a green owl named “Duo”.

  6. It offers a variety of interactive exercises.


I have been back in the game since January 1, 2024, and I will make it last this time by becoming a paid member.


Here are the top benefits:


  1. NO advertisements: the free version has more and more ads and they can be so annoying and distracting sometimes.

  2. Learning without limits. You need to use 💓 to correct the mistakes. For the free version, you get ONLY 💓💓💓💓💓hearts each day, meaning, if you make more than five mistakes, you have to watch an ad or wait for another day to learn again. Sometimes when you are in the "learning mood", it is hard to let it go...

  3. Fun Learning. check this out: Language Learning Is Hard, So We Made It Fun!


Here are a few awards that made me smile when each was presented to me:


  • You earned Mistake Mechanic by correcting 50 mistakes!

  • You earned Early Riser by completing 10 lessons before 9:00 am!

  • You earned Sleepwalker by completing 3 lessons after 10:00 pm!

  • You earned Social Butterfly by adding 3 friends!

  • You earned Flawless Finisher by completing 100 perfect lessons!


Sometimes you were having so much fun you did not even realize that you were learning a language. Having friends in Duolingo gives you a sense of community and that is why I want to subscribe to the family plan:


Why? The price is $119.00 plus tax for individuals but for a family (up to 6 people), the total is less than $180.00, for each person it is under $30.00 for the whole year! 


Would YOU like to be a part of my learning family?


Drop me a line or give me a call. I will be thrilled to have you on board.


With Duolingo, Learning a language can be addictive, contagious and so much fun.


Join me, be part of the learning family, and experience it for yourself!





54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page