top of page

Facebook Memory Reminder

I used to be very active on Facebook and I posted a lot of status updates.


That is why many years later, I would receive so many memories messages about what I posted on certain dates, surprisingly, very often, I had to say 🤣🤣🤣


It is interesting to see how I used to live, and how much I have evolved...


For instance, here is how I defined "A Perfect Saturday" on July 28, 2013:


Studying, napping, biking, walking, dancing, firework watching on the bridge...a perfect Saturday.


The funny thing is: eleven years later, I am pretty much doing the same thing over the weekend but with more activities added to my always busy weekend.


Sometimes I left home before 9 am and came back after 9 pm. I could be out all day on weekends, if we didn't play cards at my place 😂😂😂


Here is a recap of my last weekend (July 27 and 28):


On Saturday, I did my early walk in Botanical Garden (9:00 to 10:30) before playing cards at Jin's beautiful backyard. We went out for lunch and played more in the afternoon. Jin's friendly dog named Ginger stayed with us in the backyard with content 🐕🐕🐕


A friend came over to my home in the evening and we watched fireworks at 10:00. It was a 5-minute short walk to the nearby parking lot and the amazing fireworks lasted 30 minutes long 🎆🎆🎆


On Sunday, I walked to the library and reviewed some French. I then biked to 7000 Blvd LaSalle, had a picnic in the park and danced the afternoon away by the river with the crowd. There is a 96-year-old lady on the dance floor who danced and dressed well. I didn't talk to her, but I find her inspiring.


A little summary for the weekend: steps count: 42,000, almost 30 km, plus 26 km biking (from Bixi App statics), and 2 hours of dancing.


It is my ideal weekend, and I have been lucky to have many similar weekends since I moved back to the city in May 2022.


One of the highlights of a past few weekends is to play cards at a modern high-rise condo building, we used the activity room with breathtaking view on the 55th floor. We walked to have dinner together in a restaurant nearby after playing for a few hours. Sometimes we played more after dinner. There could be 4, 5 or 6 of us each time and it has become our weekly "must" this year,


Why must? Well, something is missing, something doesn't feel right if we don't play, that is why I make sure to organize one each week, so nothing is missing, everything feels all right. 😊😊😊


It takes two to tango but four to play cards.


Thanks to my wonderful playmates (玩伴) who are equally enthusiastic about having a fun time together.


This Saturday will be our number 35 this year, and we are back to Anna's activity room on the 55th floor, a place with a view, specialty tea and a wonderful time together.


I don't do Facebook status update much anymore, but we often have some photos taken when we are together, even though I will not get memory reminder about today in the future but the time we spend together will always stay fresh on my mind forever.


Cheers!

















18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page