top of page

Beat the Heat

Summer has been upon us for a while but the sticky weather seems sticker than past years.


I have to work "hard" to figure out ways to beat the heat because I don't have AC at home so I have been trying to "avoid" home whenever I can (yesterday it was 30.5 at home and it has been steadily close to 30 for the past weeks).

  • Going to the office Monday to Friday. It is not far and there aren't many people at all. Why not? I can walk half of the distance on the pedestrian-only street early in the morning and I can walk to a mall next door at lunchtime to stay cool

  • Doing activities after work: since last Tuesday, I went to a movie, played badminton, went to Cosco, and enjoyed the Jazz festival last Friday till 9:30 pm

  • Playing cards: it has been my regular weekend activity since the beginning of this year. Last week, we moved to a friend's condo and played cards in her condo's activity room, the city view from the room is amazing but the problem is the temperature was set to only 18 degrees. After last week, two came with light winter jackets yesterday. I had to borrow a sweater to keep myself warm. We made dumplings for dinner. The chives were cut from the garden early in the morning

  • Dancing and dancing more: I went to my routine morning dance practice today and went to the riverside for some line dancing this afternoon. It was still humid after I left the dance floor so I went to see a French film instead of going home. It was almost a private presentation as I was alone when the movie started, with only two families joining after the show started. It was a French film but I understood the plot well. After the movie, there was a street performance on my way home...

  • There are plenty of fun activities across the city in the summer so there are many ways to beat the heat...

What do YOU do to beat the heat?




43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page