top of page

A Few Habits

Updated: Jun 20

"In a nutshell, your health, wealth, happiness, fitness, and success depend on your habits" Joanna Jast


That is why I always try to keep the good old habits and start new ones when necessary.


Some of my good daily habits include:


Daily 10,000 steps (since 2017)

Play with Duolingo first thing in the morning (since Jan. 1 this year). It could be 4 am when I woke up and couldn't to back to sleep right away. I finished the June challenge on the 15th and according to Duo, that is faster than 94.9% of all learners on Duolingo 😊😊😊

Listen to French when I walk to work

Watch a movie (English with French subtitles or French with English subtitles)

Go to bed with an episode of Inner French podcast playing (30 minutes)


Some of my weekly or bi-weekly or whenever possible habits or are:


Play badminton: There are three sessions throughout the year with a few weeks' break between sessions.

Play cards: so far we have played almost every weekend

Play Ping Pong: I would like to play two times but that does not always happen

Language exchange: every two weeks when possible

Write a blog entry: June 13, 2020, is the first day I started this blog, this June 13 marked a 4-year anniversary of this amazing journey. This post is number 825.

Visit the museum: When the weather is not so pleasant for outdoor activities

Visit the botanical garden: once a week when the weather is nice

Visit the library: borrow books, movies or just daydream

Attend a church service: for some music and quiet moments

Dance the afternoon away by the river: 7000 Blvd LaSalle (1:00 - 3:45). Two to three hours of dancing plus biking to and from would count for a very good Sunday activity


I started a new job last month and it is the first time I could meet with people working on the same team, so I developed a few new habits since May 13 including the following:

Walking plus biking: the distance from home to work is 3.5 km, so I added bixi to my workday commute. The bike path from my home stretches all the way to the building where I work, thanks to the great city of Montreal 👍👍👍

Have lunch with colleagues on Tuesdays and Wednesdays: I met with a few wonderful colleagues, and I like the connections. This past Wednesday, we had a picnic in Old Montreal, and I jotted down a few names on my phone. It feels great to have face to face conversation at work, and the conversations are not always about work 😂😂😂


Listen to an audiobook on my way to work: the idea came from my daughter, and I like it. I used to listen to audiobook all the time before French took over my walking time. My daughter suggested a collection of short stories for us to read and discuss. I found the audiobook in the library and started the second day.


Movies in the cinema🍿🍿🍿on Tuesdays for a good price or just any other day, with friends or just by myself has been added to the list of my weekly habits 🍿🍿🍿


Since last weekend, I have done all of the above and enjoyed each activity.


Last Thursday, June 13 marked the one-month anniversary of my job with ECCC, and the icing on top is the visit from my son and his girlfriend on the same day. I had lunch at Google and dinner with the lovely couple at Lola Rosa Place-des-Arts, an intimate Brasserie & Lounge. We played cards in the evening at home and to my great surprise, I EVEN won the first round, my first time ever 😮😮😮


Yesterday we played cards but not at my home. We traveled far and played at a friend's home in St. Jerome. The visit to the nearby park and the delicious dinner are memorable. The people we met are interesting 😃😃😃


Today is the second time this year I biked to the riverside in Verdun and danced the afternoon away.


The total km for bixi today = 20 km.


The steps for this weekend are 42,289 = 29.21 km.


"In a nutshell, your health, wealth, happiness, fitness, and success depend on your habits" Joanna Jast


Do you agree?





54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2020 by Readings and Writings for Personal Development. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page