top of page
Writer's pictureAngela

Time to Say Goodbye

Updated: May 11

I didn't look for another job when I started my one-year term with Health Canada last May. I told myself: I am safe, I have a year ahead.


That is true but time does fly, before I know it, a year ahead will soon be a year behind.


Today is my last day working for Health Canada 😲😲😲


I got the news that my contract could not be renewed before my vacation in Mexico this February.


The vacation went smoothly, we had sunshine almost every day but my thoughts sometimes were shadowed by the idea of job hunting.


Yes, job hunting can be very daunting😨😨😨


I did take some serious steps though 👍👍👍


  • Posted Seeking Opportunity on social media: Facebook and GCconnex

  • Signed up for job alert emails for GCjobs and Glassdoor jobs

  • Applied for jobs found on various platforms

  • Reached out to my network

  • Took a co-worker's advice, had a French oral test, and succeeded

  • Went to work in the office from Monday to Friday, and enjoyed these benefits:

    • Meeting new people, especially my "neighbors"

    • Practicing French with my bilingual colleagues

    • Daily steps: I need 10,000 each day. By walking to work/back home, I can easily put that 10,000 under my belt 😊😊😊


Life can be interesting sometimes 😉😉😉


On April 8, 2021, I signed a Causal contract with the Department of Oceans and Fishery.


On April 4, 2024, I signed another Causal Contract with Canada Water Agency.


In between, I had a few Term Contracts, the longest one is the one I am finishing TODAY.


For over three years, I have gained valuable experience, met some wonderful people, and built a solid professional network.


I am thankful for EVERYONE who has been part of my journey since day one. I would not have been this far without your support and encouragement. You know WHO you are!


I look forward to starting a new chapter on Monday, May 13😃😃😃


To Health Canada, now it is time to say goodbye 👋👋👋





47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page