top of page

The Pool

Updated: Sep 21

It has been a week since I wanted to write about "the pool".


What pool? Swimming pool? You may ask 🤔🤔🤔


Well, I can start from there 🥽🥽🥽


We have been blessed with a hot long summer this year, an Indian summer.


My home hit close to 30 degrees each day when I arrived from work last week.


I have Air Conditioning at home (finally installed after living in the same place since 2007) but I don't like leaving it on when I am not there. I work in an office five days a week even though only three are required. I like the office environment where I can talk with people and walk in the nice neighborhood during lunchtime.


Last week, when home felt like an oven, the moment I unlocked the door was the moment I wanted to run away 🏃‍♀️🏃‍♀️🏃‍♀️


Where? What could be a better place to go than a swimming pool?


Luckily, there is an indoor swimming pool five minutes away from my 🏠 so I went swimming three times last week 🏊‍♀️🏊‍♀️🏊‍♀️


That is NOT the pool I wanted to write about though. It is another kind of pool. The pool you get in on the job market, in particular, the government of Canada job market.


I have been working for the government since April 2021 and I was often asked this question when I inquired about job opportunities, especially through networking:


Are you in a pool?


I usually wanted to ask back: how do you get in a pool? after saying "Not yet".


Getting into a pool usually is a lengthy process and it involves testing, interviews, and reference checks.


I applied for a job with Health Canada this March and did written exams, intense interviews, and reference checks (separate meetings with three of my references).


Last Friday, I received this email just before I logged off for the weekend:


I am pleased to inform you that the assessment board has found you qualified for this position and has placed you in a pool of candidates for a possible appointment at a future date. 


It took me a while to process the news:


What? Did I get into a pool? for real? and it is an AS-02?


Wahoo🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉


I thanked the people who provided the solid reference and I am proud of myself!


I am happy that I can finally say YES to the two questions often asked orally or in writing during the job process:


  • Do you have the language? (are you bilingual)

  • Are you in a pool?


The answer to both is: Yes and Yes 😀😀😀


Wahoo🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉









20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page