top of page
Writer's pictureAngela

A New Chapter

The 13th of May marked a new chapter in my life, at least TWICE.


On May 13, 1997, I arrived in Edmonton, the first foreign city in a foreign country I had ever set my feet in, with my 5-year-old daughter.


24 years have passed, and many things have happened. Here are the top 13:


  1. My son was born in June 1998 👦👦👦

  2. I got my driver's license in 1998 🚗🚗🚗

  3. I completed my first computer training program called Microsoft Office also in 1998. I didn't know how to use a computer before 🖥️🖥️🖥️

  4. I washed the dishes in a coffee shop and worked in an office also 👩‍🏭👷‍♀️👩‍🏭

  5. I moved to Toronto in 2001 and had three different office jobs 🏢🏢🏢

  6. My marriage fell apart in Toronto and I was left with the kids in 2003

  7. I moved to Montreal in August 2004 with my kids (12 and 6) 👦👧

  8. I got a Master's degree in 2006 from McGill (my first was from China in 1985) 😃😃

  9. I bought a condo and moved in 2007 🎈🎈🎈

  10. I dated a few guys and got married again in December 2016 😮😮😮

  11. My kids graduated from McGill (2014 and 2020) and got offers from Google 😃😃😃

  12. I decided to break free so I moved back to the city in May 2022 👍👍👍

  13. I started a daily blog in June 2020 and published more than 800 entries 😉😉😉


May 13, 2024, is the first day I started my new job as an Executive Assistant for Canada Water Agency🫡🫡🫡


I met a few colleagues today and we had lunch in a nearby park. I like the office environment and my new boss. The location is great as I could walk/bike to the office in less than 30 minutes 🚶🚶🚶🚴‍♀️🚴‍♀️🚴‍♀️


I don't know what the future holds but I know this new chapter will bring me more happiness and fulfillment.


Cheers to a brand new chapter 🥂🥂🥂🍻🍻🍻















69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page